Notice Regarding Videoconference Appearance Technology (Zoom) (July 6, 2020)

Beginning July 6, 2020, the Court of Appeal for Ontario will be using the Zoom video conferencing platform for remote hearings.1

This Notice contains:

  1. an overview of the process for Zoom appearances at the Court of Appeal for Ontario;
  2. best practices for participating in Zoom appearances at the Court of Appeal for Ontario; and
  3. information for members of the public and the media about how to request access to observe a Zoom hearing at the Court of Appeal for Ontario.

A. Process for Participants in Zoom Appearances

Zoom appearances are scheduled during the court's ordinary sitting times.

To participate in a Zoom appearance by video, participants will need an internet connection and a computer or similar device with a webcam, microphone, speaker, and sufficient bandwidth. Participants are encouraged to use headsets or earbuds to improve the audio transmission.

(i) Appeals and Panel Motions

The process described below applies to Zoom hearings for appeals and panel motions, and not to single judge motions, which are dealt with later in this notice.

Before the Hearing of the Appeal or the Panel Motion

Three weeks before the hearing, participants in an appeal/panel motion will be sent an email with the following information:

  1. The date of the hearing;
  2. The start time of the hearing;
  3. The time assignments for oral argument; and
  4. An electronic counsel slip.

Each party must fill out and return a copy of the counsel slip to the court’s e-filing e-mail address at coa.e-file@ontario.ca within three days of receiving the email. All information on the counsel slip must be filled out, except the name and contact information for the other parties. If the information on the counsel slip changes for any reason before the hearing, an updated counsel slip must be filed immediately.

Each party must identify on the counsel slip whether the matter is subject to a sealing order or publication ban. If the matter is not subject to a sealing order or publication ban, but a party anticipates that sensitive information will be discussed during the hearing or is requesting that the matter be heard in-camera, the party is asked to send a letter to coa.e-file@ontario.ca at the time the counsel slip is submitted, identifying the nature of the sensitive information.

Two weeks before the hearing, participants will be sent an email with the following information:

  1. A hyperlink to access the Zoom hearing;
  2. The meeting ID and password for the Zoom hearing; and
  3. The telephone numbers to access the Zoom hearing.

Unless a hyperlink to access the Zoom hearing has been posted on the Court of Appeal’s website, this information cannot be shared except with clients, directly interested persons or on request to the Registrar at coa.registrar@ontario.ca.

The Zoom hearing will be set for 30 minutes before the appeal is scheduled to begin to allow participants and court staff to address any issues with technology.

Filing Electronic Documents

Participants are reminded that they must adhere to the court’s practice directions and guidelines regarding the electronic filing of documents, and in particular, the deadlines for filing electronic documents. The court’s current practice directions regarding COVID-19 are available at https://www.ontariocourts.ca/coa/en/notices/covid-19/ochome.htm. The court’s general practice directions and guidelines are available at https://www.ontariocourts.ca/coa/en/notices/. Please note that the court’s practice direction regarding the naming of electronically-filed material does not apply to counsel slips.

Accessing Zoom

Participants can download or subscribe to Zoom at https://zoom.us/. It is not necessary to purchase a subscription to Zoom. Participating in a hearing scheduled by the Court of Appeal for Ontario is free.

User tutorials for Zoom are available at https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/206618765-Zoom-Video-Tutorials.

On the Day of the Hearing of the Appeal or Panel Motion

Participants can join the hearing by clicking on the link provided, or by opening Zoom, clicking on the “Join” or “Join a Meeting” icon, and entering the meeting ID and password provided. Participants should label themselves with their full names and roles in the proceeding, not with pseudonyms or aliases.

Alternatively, if a participant is unable to participate by videoconference, the participant may seek the permission of the panel or the presiding judge to join the hearing by audio conference only. A participant joining by audio only will need to call the phone number provided and follow the directions regarding entering the meeting ID and password. Participants should only join by audio if they experience technical issues with the videoconference and only with the approval of the panel or the presiding judge.

The Zoom hearing will be open to participants beginning 30 minutes before the appeal/panel motion is scheduled to be heard. Participants must sign into Zoom well in advance of the scheduled hearing to address any issues with technology. When joining Zoom, participants will be placed in a waiting room and then admitted into the hearing by court staff when the pre-hearing check-in is ready to commence.

A pre-hearing check-in will occur approximately fifteen minutes before the scheduled hearing time. All participants in the appeal/panel motion must be present for the pre-hearing check-in.

During the Hearing of the Appeal or Panel Motion

Subject to any direction of the panel or presiding judge, only counsel/parties providing submissions will appear on video in the virtual courtroom.

Screensharing should be used only with permission of the court.

Participants should be aware that hearings on Zoom will be audio recorded by the court for internal court purposes only, as is currently the case with in person appeals.

Participants must not make any recording of the hearing (audio or video) and must not take photos or screenshots of the proceedings.2

If you experience any technical difficulties with Zoom, please consult the Zoom Help Center at https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us as Zoom is a third-party remote appearance service. During a hearing, the court registrar may contact counsel or a party by phone or email as indicated on the counsel slip if that person appears to be experiencing connection issues with the virtual courtroom. Parties should ensure that they have their phones with them at all times so that they can be reached, should the need arise.

(ii) Single Judge Motions

Once hearing dates are confirmed and materials are filed in accordance with the court’s current practice directions regarding COVID-19, participants in a single judge motion will be sent an email by the Motions’ Clerk with the following information:

  1. The date of the hearing;
  2. The start time of the hearing;
  3. The time assignments for oral argument; and
  4. An electronic counsel slip.

Each party must fill out and return a copy of the counsel slip to the court’s e-filing e-mail address at coa.e-file@ontario.ca as soon as possible before the hearing. All information on the counsel slip must be filled out, except the name and contact information for the other parties. If the information on the counsel slip changes for any reason before the hearing, an updated counsel slip must be filed immediately.

Each party must identify on the counsel slip whether the matter is subject to a sealing order or publication ban. If the matter is not subject to a sealing order or publication ban, but a party anticipates that sensitive information will be discussed during the hearing or is requesting that the motion be heard in-camera, the party is asked to send a letter to coa.e-file@ontario.ca at the time the counsel slip is submitted, identifying the nature of the sensitive information.

The process for Zoom appearances described above for appeals and panel motions applies, with necessary modifications, to single judge motions.

B. Best Practices for Zoom Appearances

The following are best practices for appearances by Zoom at the Court of Appeal for Ontario. These practices are for guidance and are not intended to be exhaustive. Participants should follow any direction given by the panel or presiding judge. They may also wish to consult the Advocates’ Society’s Best Practices for Remote Hearings.

  1. Identify an appropriate environment for the hearing and improve internet connectivity.
    1. Choose a professional environment with a neutral backdrop and adequate lighting.
    2. If possible, choose a location near a modem and/or connect directly to the internet via ethernet for better connectivity.
    3. If connecting by Wi-Fi, to reduce potential connection problems, minimize the use of bandwidth by other members of the household or office.
    4. Choose a quiet location with minimal distractions.
  1. Prepare hardware and software in advance.
    1. Fully charge and plug in devices during the hearing. 
    2. Place devices on a stable and stationary surface. Handheld devices should not be used.
    3. Test accessing Zoom and the internet connection in advance of the hearing, in the location that will be used for the hearing (see https://zoom.us/test).
    4. Ensure devices that will be used during the hearing meet Zoom system requirements (see https://support.zoom.us/hc/en-us/articles/201362023-System-Requirements-for-PC-Mac-and-Linux).
    5. Select a screen name for Zoom containing your full name and role in the proceeding (e.g. Jane Doe, Counsel to the Appellant).
    6. Position the camera on your computer or similar device in a way for it to be level with your face and 1-2 feet away from where you will be seated for the hearing.
  1. Plan for communicating with others.
    1. Consider how counsel will communicate with clients, co-counsel, and opposing parties (if necessary) privately during the hearing.
    2. Exchange telephone numbers and email addresses in advance to communicate in the event technological or other issues arise during the hearing.
  1. Take steps to minimize background noise.
    1. Mute your microphone if you are not speaking. Participants who have not muted their microphones may be muted by the court.
    2. Put cell phones and other devices on silent and mute notifications on your computer to avoid interrupting the hearing.
  1. Adapt oral argument for a remote hearing.
    1. Gowning is not required for any Zoom appearances at this time. Parties and counsel should wear appropriate business attire.
    2. Consider speaking more slowly than usual, to adapt to lag times in the video or audio technology.
    3. Consider whether to proceed more slowly than usual when referring to documents, as it may take longer for judges to locate the electronic documents.

C. Public and Media Access to Zoom Hearings

Members of the public and media who wish to observe a Zoom hearing must send a request in writing to the Registrar at coa.registrar@ontario.ca at least 48 hours before the scheduled hearing.

Please remember that copying, recording, publishing, broadcasting or disseminating any court hearing, or any portion of it, including a hearing that is conducted over Zoom, is prohibited and is an offence under s. 136 of the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43.


1. The court’s existing third-party remote appearance service, CourtCall, may be used in certain cases. The notice relating to the use of CourtCall is available at https://www.ontariocourts.ca/coa/en/notices/tele-video.htm. Unless otherwise directed, Zoom will be used even if a case management direction issued before July 6, 2020 indicated that the hearing would proceed by CourtCall.

2. See s. 136 of the Courts of Justice Act, R.S.O. 1990, c. C.43.

Ontario Courts Home Search

RÉVOQUÉ (29 mars 2021)

Avis concernant la technologie de comparution par vidéoconférence (Zoom) (6 juillet 2020)

À compter du 6 juillet 2020, la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario utilisera la plateforme de vidéoconférences Zoom pour tenir des audiences à distance1.

Le présent avis contient :

  1. les grandes lignes de la procédure de comparutions par Zoom à la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario;
  2. des pratiques exemplaires en matière de comparution par Zoom à la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario;
  3. des renseignements à l'intention du public et des médias pour demander de participer à titre d'observateur à une audience par Zoom à la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario.

A. Procédure de participation à des comparutions par Zoom

Les comparutions par Zoom ont lieu pendant les heures normales d'audience de la cour.

Pour participer à une comparution par Zoom, il faut avoir une connexion à Internet et un ordinateur ou un dispositif semblable muni d'une webcam, d'un microphone et de haut-parleurs, et disposant d'une bande passante suffisante. Les participants sont encouragés à utiliser des écouteurs ou des oreillettes pour améliorer la transmission audio.

(i) Appels et motions devant une formation de juges

Le processus décrit ci-dessous s'applique aux audiences par Zoom pour des appels et des motions devant une formation de juges, et pas pour des motions devant un juge seul (traitées plus bas dans le présent avis).

Avant l'audition de l'appel ou de la motion devant une formation de juges

Trois semaines avant l'audience, les participants à un appel ou à une motion devant une formation de juges recevront un courriel contenant les renseignements suivants :

  1. La date de l'audience;
  2. L'heure de début de l'audience;
  3. Le temps imparti aux arguments oraux;
  4. Une liste électronique des avocats.

Chaque partie doit remplir la liste des avocats et la renvoyer à l'adresse de courriel du tribunal pour les dépôts électroniques, coa.e-file@ontario.ca, dans les trois jours de la réception du courriel. Tous les renseignements demandés sur la liste des avocats doivent être fournis, sauf les noms et coordonnées se rapportant aux autres parties. Si des renseignements figurant sur la liste des avocats changent pour une raison quelconque avant l'audience, une liste corrigée doit être déposée immédiatement.

Chaque partie doit indiquer sur la liste des avocats si l'affaire fait l'objet d'une ordonnance de mise sous scellés ou d'une interdiction de publication. Si l'affaire ne fait pas l'objet d'une ordonnance de mise sous scellés ou d'une interdiction de publication, mais qu'une partie anticipe que des renseignements sensibles seront abordés pendant l'audience ou qu'elle demande que l'audience se déroule à huis clos, elle devra envoyer une lettre à coa.e-file@ontario.ca, au moment où la liste des avocats est présentée, en indiquant la nature des renseignements sensibles.

Deux semaines avant l'audience, les participants recevront un courriel contenant les renseignements suivants :

  1. Un hyperlien d'accès à l'audience par Zoom;
  2. Le numéro de l'audience et le mot de passe de connexion à l'audience par Zoom;
  3. Les numéros de téléphone à composer pour accéder à l'audience par Zoom.

Tant qu'un hyperlien d'accès à l'audience par Zoom n'est pas affiché sur le site Web de la Cour d'appel, ces renseignements ne peuvent pas être communiqués à des tiers autres que les clients et les personnes directement concernées. Ils pourront l'être si une demande à cet égard a été faite au greffier, à coa.registrar@ontario.ca, et acceptée.

L'audience par Zoom sera fixée 30 minutes avant le début prévu de l'audition de l'appel afin de permettre aux participants et au personnel du tribunal de régler des problèmes technologiques éventuels.

Dépôt de documents électroniques

Les participants doivent se conformer aux directives de pratique et lignes directrices du tribunal concernant le dépôt électronique de documents et, en particulier, aux délais de dépôt de documents électroniques. Les directives de pratique en vigueur de la cour relatives à la COVID-19 sont consultables à https://www.ontariocourts.ca/coa/fr/notices/covid-19/ochome.htm. Les directives de pratique et lignes directrices générales de la cour sont affichées à https://www.ontariocourts.ca/coa/fr/notices/. Veuillez noter que la directive de pratique de la cour relative à l'attribution des noms des documents déposés par voie électronique ne s'applique pas aux listes des avocats.

Accès à Zoom

Les participants peuvent télécharger l'application Zoom ou s'inscrire à Zoom sur le site https://zoom.us/. Il n'est pas nécessaire d'acheter un abonnement à Zoom. La participation à une audience fixée par la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario est gratuite.

Des tutoriels de l'utilisateur pour Zoom peuvent être visionnés à https://support.zoom.us/hc/fr/articles/206618765-Zoom-Video-Tutorials.

Le jour de l'audition de l'appel ou de la motion devant une formation de juges

Les participants peuvent se joindre à l'audience en cliquant sur le lien fourni ou en ouvrant l'application Zoom, puis en cliquant sur l'icône « Rejoindre » ou « Rejoindre une réunion » et en saisissant le numéro de la réunion et le mot de passe qui leur ont été communiqués. Les participants devraient s'identifier en utilisant leur nom au complet et leur rôle dans l'instance, et pas des pseudonymes.

Toutefois, si un participant ne peut pas participer par vidéoconférence, il peut demander à la formation ou au juge qui préside la permission de se joindre à l'audience par audioconférence seulement. Il devra alors composer le numéro qui lui a été donné et suivre les instructions pour saisir le numéro de la conférence et le mot de passe. Un participant ne devrait participer par audioconférence que s'il a des difficultés techniques à se joindre à une vidéoconférence et uniquement s'il a obtenu l'approbation de la formation ou du juge qui préside.

L'audience par Zoom sera ouverte aux participants 30 minutes avant l'heure prévue de l'audition de l'appel ou de la motion devant une formation. Les participants doivent se connecter à Zoom suffisamment de temps avant l'heure prévue de l'audience pour avoir le temps de régler tout problème éventuel de technologie. Une fois qu'ils sont connectés à la conférence par Zoom, les participants seront placés dans une salle d'attente, puis le personnel du tribunal les fera entrer dans la salle d'audience pour les formalités d'admission préalables à l'audience.

Les formalités d'admission préalables à l'audience commenceront environ 15 minutes avant l'heure prévue de l'audience. Tous les participants à l'appel ou à la motion devant une formation doivent être présents pour l'admission préalable à l'audience.

Pendant l'audition de l'appel ou de la motion devant une formation de juges

Sous réserve d'une directive de la formation ou du juge qui préside, seuls les avocats ou les parties qui font des observations apparaîtront sur la vidéo dans la salle d'audience virtuelle.

La fonction d'écran partagé ne devrait être utilisée qu'avec la permission du tribunal.

Il y a lieu de préciser que les audiences par Zoom seront enregistrées sur bande sonore par le tribunal à des fins d'utilisation interne uniquement, comme c'est le cas pour les appels en personne.

Les participants n'ont pas le droit d'enregistrer (sur bande audio ou vidéo) l'audience, ni de prendre des photos ou des captures d'écran de l'instance.

En cas de difficultés techniques avec Zoom, consultez le site de dépannage de Zoom, à https://support.zoom.us/hc/fr, car Zoom est un service de comparution à distance tiers. Au cours de l'audience, le greffier pourrait contacter un avocat ou une partie par téléphone ou par courriel, aux coordonnées indiquées dans la liste des avocats, si cette personne semble avoir des problèmes à se connecter à la salle d'audience virtuelle. Les parties devraient toujours avoir leur téléphone avec elles pour pouvoir être jointes en cas de besoin.

(ii) Motions devant un juge seul

Une fois que les dates d'audience sont confirmées et que les documents sont déposés conformément aux directives de pratique de la cour en vigueur pendant la période de l'épidémie de COVID-19, les participants à l'audition d'une motion devant un juge seul recevront un courriel du greffier des motions, qui contient les renseignements suivants :

  1. La date de l'audience;
  2. L'heure de début de l'audience;
  3. Le temps imparti aux arguments oraux;
  4. Une liste électronique des avocats.

Chaque partie doit remplir la liste des avocats et la renvoyer à l'adresse de courriel du tribunal, à coa.e-file@ontario.ca, le plus tôt possible avant l'audience. Tous les renseignements demandés sur la fiche des avocats doivent être fournis, sauf les noms et les coordonnées se rapportant aux autres parties. Si des renseignements figurant sur la liste des avocats changent pour une raison quelconque avant l'audience, une liste corrigée doit être déposée immédiatement.

Chaque partie doit indiquer sur la liste des avocats si l'affaire fait l'objet d'une ordonnance de mise sous scellés ou d'une interdiction de publication. Si l'affaire ne fait pas l'objet d'une ordonnance de mise sous scellés ou d'une interdiction de publication, mais qu'une partie anticipe que des renseignements sensibles seront abordés pendant l'audience ou qu'elle demande que l'audience se déroule à huis clos, elle devra envoyer une lettre à coa.e-file@ontario.ca, au moment où la liste des avocats est présentée, en indiquant la nature des renseignements sensibles.

La procédure à suivre pour les comparutions par Zoom, décrite ci-dessus, pour les appels et les motions devant une formation s'applique, avec les modifications nécessaires, à l'audition de motions devant un juge seul.

B. Pratiques exemplaires en matière de comparutions par Zoom

Voici quelques pratiques exemplaires à suivre pour des comparutions par Zoom à la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario. Ces pratiques sont de simples conseils et ne constituent pas une liste exhaustive. Les participants devraient suivre toute directive que leur donnerait la formation ou le juge qui préside. Ils peuvent aussi consulter les Pratiques exemplaires pour les audiences tenues à distance publiées par l'Advocates' Society.

  1. Choisir un endroit qui convient à une audience et améliorer la connectivité à Internet.
    1. L'endroit devrait être professionnel, avec un arrière-plan neutre et un éclairage adéquat.
    2. Dans la mesure du possible, l'endroit devrait être près d'un modem ou permettre une connexion directe à Internet au moyen d'un câble Ethernet pour assurer une bonne connectivité.
    3. Si la connexion à Internet est par Wi-Fi, afin de réduire le risque de problèmes de connexion, il faut réduire l'utilisation de la bande passante par d'autres membres du ménage ou du bureau.
    4. L'endroit doit être tranquille, sans distractions.
  2. Préparer le matériel et le logiciel à l'avance.
    1. Les appareils utilisés devraient être branchés et entièrement chargés pendant l'audience.
    2. Les appareils devraient être posés sur une surface stable et fixe. Des dispositifs portables ne devraient pas être utilisés.
    3. Il est recommandé d'essayer d'accéder à Zoom et de tester la connexion à Internet avant l'audience, à l'endroit où le participant se trouvera pendant l'audience (voir https://zoom.us/test).
    4. Les dispositifs utilisés pour l'audience doivent être conformes aux exigences du système Zoom (voir https://support.zoom.us/hc/fr/articles/201362023-System-Requirements-for-PC-Mac-and-Linux).
    5. Le nom d'écran choisi pour l'audience par Zoom doit contenir le nom complet du participant et son rôle dans l'instance (p. ex., Jane Doe, avocate de l'appelant).
    6. La caméra doit être placée sur l'ordinateur ou un dispositif semblable de façon à être au niveau du visage et à 1 ou 2 pieds de là où le participant sera assis.
  3. Planifier comment communiquer avec d'autres participants.
    1. Il faut prévoir comment les avocats communiqueront en privé avec les clients, les coavocats et les parties adverses (au besoin) pendant l'audience.
    2. Les parties et avocats devraient s'échanger leurs numéros de téléphone et courriels à l'avance afin de pouvoir communiquer en cas de problèmes techniques ou d'autres problèmes pendant l'audience.
  4. Réduire au minimum les bruits de fond.
    1. Les participants qui ne parlent pas doivent désactiver leur microphone. Si un participant n'a pas désactivé son microphone, le tribunal pourrait le désactiver.
    2. Les téléphones cellulaires et autres dispositifs doivent être mis sur mode silencieux et les notifications sur l'ordinateur doivent être désactivées pour éviter d'interrompre l'audience.
  5. Adapter les arguments oraux à une audience à distance.
    1. Il n'est pas nécessaire de porter la toge pour une comparution par Zoom en ce moment. Une tenue vestimentaire appropriée est de mise pour les avocats et les parties.
    2. Il est conseillé de parler plus lentement que d'habitude en raison des légers décalages dans la technologie vidéo ou audio.
    3. Il est conseillé de procéder plus lentement que d'habitude au renvoi vers des documents, car les juges pourraient prendre plus de temps pour trouver les documents électroniques.

C. Accès du public et des médias aux audiences par Zoom

Les membres du public et les représentants des médias qui souhaitent observer une audience par Zoom doivent en faire la demande, par écrit, au greffier, à coa.registrar@ontario.ca, au moins 48 heures avant l'heure prévue de l'audience.

Il y a lieu de rappeler aux participants qu'il est interdit de copier, d'enregistrer, de publier, de diffuser ou de distribuer des reproductions d'une audience judiciaire ou d'une partie d'une audience judiciaire, y compris une audience qui se déroule par Zoom, et que cela constitue une infraction aux termes de l'art. 136 de la Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires, L.R.O. 1990, chap. C.43.


1. Le service actuel de comparution à distance qu'utilise le tribunal, CourtCall, peut être utilisé dans certains cas. L'avis concernant ce service est consultable à https://www.ontariocourts.ca/coa/fr/notices/tele-video.htm. Sauf directive contraire, Zoom sera utilisé même si une directive de gestion de la cause rendue avant le 6 juillet 2020 précisait que l'audience se déroulerait par CourtCall.

2. Voir l'art. 136 de la Loi sur les tribunaux judiciaires, L.R.O. 1990, chap. C.43.

Tribunaux de l'Ontario Home Search