Brief Biographical Note of Justice Sarah E. Pepall

Justice of the Court of Appeal for Ontario, appointed April  5, 2012.

Former Justice of the Superior Court of Justice (Ontario) from  1999 to 2012. Team Leader of the Commercial List from August 2006 to December 2010. Presided in all areas of the Superior Court including civil, commercial, criminal, family and Divisional Court.

President of the Ontario Superior Judges’ Association from 2006 to 2008.

Called to the Bar of Ontario in 1978 having received her law degree from McGill University in 1976.  Obtained a Masters of Law in Public Law from Osgoode Hall Law School in 1983.

Prior to appointment to the Superior Court, was a partner at McMillan Binch where she practised civil and commercial litigation and was active on management  including serving as the firm’s Managing Partner.

Frequent lecturer on a wide variety of subjects in Canada and elsewhere including  on Mediation in Canada at Cambridge University in the U.K. and on Law Firm Management in the People’s Republic of China.  Also taught courses in both Civil Procedure and Trial Advocacy at Osgoode Hall Law School and at the Ontario Bar Admission Course.  

Past Chair of the Board of Directors of the National Multiple Sclerosis Society of Canada, a past member of the Board of Directors of the Advocates’ Society and Editor of its publication, “The Brief”, and a past  member of the Dickson Circle, a group of senior lawyers who donate their time and experience to act as counsel to ARCH, a not-for-profit legal resource centre for people with disabilities.

Recipient of the first Lifetime Achievement Award from the Turnaround Management Association in May, 2011 and named as one of Canada’s top 100 women by the Women’s Executive Network in 2006.

Ontario Courts Home Search

Notice biographique de l'honorable Sarah E. Pepall

Juge de la Cour d'appel de l'Ontario, nommée le 5 avril 2012.

Ancienne juge de la Cour supérieure de justice (Ontario), de 1999 à 2012, elle était chef d’équipe du rôle des affaires commerciales, d'août 2006 à décembre 2010. Elle a présidé des audiences dans tous les domaines de compétence de la Cour supérieure, dont le droit civil, commercial, criminel, familial et la Cour divisionnaire.

Elle a été présidente de l'Association des juges de la Cour supérieure de l'Ontario, de 2006 à 2008.

Admise au Barreau de l'Ontario en 1978, après avoir obtenu son diplôme de droit de l'Université McGill en 1976. Elle a obtenu une maîtrise en droit public de l'Osgoode Hall Law School en 1983.

Avant d'être nommée à la Cour supérieure, elle était associée dans le cabinet McMillan Binch, où ses principaux domaines d'exercice étaient le contentieux en matière civile et en matière commerciale. Elle était également active dans la gestion du cabinet, ayant rempli les fonctions d'associée gérante du cabinet.

Oratrice prolifique sur divers sujets au Canada et à l'étranger, elle a notamment parlé de la médiation au Canada à l'Université Cambridge au R.-U., et de la gestion des cabinets d'avocats dans la République populaire de Chine. Elle a enseigné des cours de procédure civile et de plaidoiries à Osgoode Hall Law School et pour le cours de préparation aux examens du Barreau.  

Ancienne présidente du conseil d'administration de la Société canadienne de la sclérose en plaques, elle était également membre du conseil d'administration de l'Advocates’ Society et rédactrice en chef de sa publication « The Brief ». Elle a aussi participé au Dickson Circle, un groupe d'avocats chevronnés qui font don de leur temps et de leur expérience d'avocat pour fournir des conseils juridiques à ARCH, un centre de ressources juridiques à but non lucratif pour les personnes handicapées.

Lauréate du premier prix d'excellence pour l'ensemble de ses réalisations de la Turnaround Management Association en mai 2011, elle a figuré au palmarès des 100 femmes les plus influentes du Canada par le Women’s Executive Network en 2006.

Tribunaux de l'Ontario Home Search